First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson John R. McCravy, III Adam M. Morgan Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis Tommy M. Stringer Chris Wooten

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Gil Gatch
William M. "Bill" Hixon
Kimberly O. Johnson
Josiah Magnuson
Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis
Travis A. Moore
Russell L. Ott
Michael F. Rivers, Sr.
John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

Legislative Oversight Committee

Tuesday, May 18, 2021 10:30 AM Blatt Room 321

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Education and Cultural Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson on Tuesday, May 18, 2021, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. All members were present for all of the meeting.

Minutes

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Discussion of Arts Commission

- I. Chair Johnson opens the meeting and confirms that all agency staff providing testimony have been sworn it. Mr. David Platt, Executive Director, Ms. Milly Hough, Senior Deputy Director for the Arts Commission, Ms. Ashley Brown, Deputy Director of the Arts Commission, and Ms. Angela Brewbaker, Finance Director, were sworn in at a previous meeting and Chair Johnson reminds agency staff that they remain under oath.
- II. Angela Brewbaker, Finance Director, provides comments related to agency finances. The following items are discussed:
 - a. Appropriated and Authorized to Spend;
 - b. Expenditures;
 - c. Sources of Other Funds; and
 - d. Carry Forward and Remaining Cash.
- III. Milly Hough, Senior Deputy Director, provides comments regarding the following:
 - a. Records, regulations, and reports compliance;
 - b. Risk mitigation processes; and
 - c. Internal audits
- IV. Ashley Brown, Deputy Director, provides comments regarding the following:
 - a. Agency successes, challenges, and emerging issues; and
 - b. Deliverable Group 1 (i.e. Grant Funds Distribution, Arts Education Grants, Artist Development Grants, and Community Arts Development Grants)
- V. David Platts, Executive Director, provides comments regarding the following:
 - a. Agency organizational chart;
 - b. Organizational unit functions; and
 - c. Turnover
- VI. Subcommittee members ask questions relating to the following:
 - a. Agency spending;
 - b. Other funds revenue and non-profit organizations;

- c. Fundraising;
- d. Social media activities;
- e. Administrative support provided to non-profit organizations;
- f. Eligibility for National Endowment of the Arts funding;
- g. Elizabeth O'Neill Verner Award name change;
- h. Agency interaction with local governments;
- i. Interagency partnerships;
- j. Commission board activities; and
- k. Agency performance measures;

Agency staff respond to the members' questions.

Adjournment

I. There being no further business, the meeting is adjourned.